Xem thêm

ICC Cricket World Cup 2023: A Guide to the Ultimate Cricket Showdown

The ICC Cricket World Cup trophy pictured outside the Taj Mahal in India The wait is almost over! The 14th edition of the ICC Men's Cricket World Cup is set to kick off in India....

The ICC Cricket World Cup trophy pictured outside the Taj Mahal in India. The ICC Cricket World Cup trophy pictured outside the Taj Mahal in India

The wait is almost over! The 14th edition of the ICC Men's Cricket World Cup is set to kick off in India. This year's tournament promises to be an open battle, with numerous teams vying for the coveted World Cup glory. Let's dive into the details of this cricket extravaganza and get you ready for the action-packed event.

Cricket World Cup Schedule and Start Date

The tournament commences with a clash between England and New Zealand, a rematch of the nail-biting 2019 final at Lord's. The action begins on Thursday morning at 09:30 BST. From that point onwards, there will be a group-stage match held every day until Sunday, 12 November. The semi-finals will take place on Wednesday, 15 November and Thursday, 16 November, with the final set for Sunday, 19 November. Most matches will start at 09:30 BST, while a few will begin at 06:00 BST. On Sunday, October 29, when British Summer Time ends, the match times will shift to 08:30 GMT and 05:00 GMT respectively.

Cricket World Cup Format

All ten participating teams will compete in a round-robin format during the group stage. Each team will face every other team once. A win grants two points, a tie or no-result gives one point, and a loss gives zero points. After the completion of all nine group-stage matches for each team, the top four teams will advance to the semi-finals. The team that finishes first will face the fourth-placed team, while the second-placed team will take on the third-placed team in the other semi-final. The winners of the semi-finals will clash in the final, where the ultimate champion of the ICC Men's Cricket World Cup 2023 will be crowned.

Cricket World Cup Competing Teams

One of the biggest surprises this year is the absence of two-time winners, West Indies, who failed to qualify for the group stage for the first time in their history. The ten teams competing in the ICC Men's Cricket World Cup 2023 are Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, Netherlands, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, and Sri Lanka.

Cricket World Cup Venues and Stadiums

India will host the 48 matches of the World Cup across ten different venues. The tournament's opening match between England and New Zealand will take place in Ahmedabad. The semi-finals will be held in Mumbai and Kolkata, while Ahmedabad will once again be the venue for the final showdown.

The host venues for the ICC Men's Cricket World Cup 2023 are:

  • Ahmedabad (Narendra Modi Stadium)
  • Bangalore (M. Chinnaswamy Stadium)
  • Chennai (MA Chidambaram Stadium)
  • Delhi (Arun Jaitley Stadium)
  • Dharamshala (HPCA Stadium)
  • Hyderabad (Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium)
  • Kolkata (Eden Gardens)
  • Lucknow (BRSABV Ekana Cricket Stadium)
  • Mumbai (Wankhede Stadium)
  • Pune (Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium)

Rules of the Game

The tournament follows a one-day format, with each team playing 50 overs unless they are bowled out or the target is reached before the completion of 50 overs. The 50 overs are divided into three powerplays: Powerplay 1 (overs 1-10), Powerplay 2 (overs 11-40), and Powerplay 3 (overs 41-50), each having specific fielding restrictions. Each match will consist of two three-and-a-half-hour sessions, separated by a 45-minute break between innings. In case a match ends in a tie after 50 overs, a super over will be played to determine the winner during the semi-finals and final. In case of a lengthy interruption due to weather conditions, the Duckworth Lewis Stern (DLS) method will be employed to decide the winner. Matches with a reserve day will be moved accordingly.

Previous Cricket World Cup Winners

England enters the tournament as the defending champions, having clinched the title for the first time on their home turf four years ago. Here is a list of the previous Cricket World Cup winners:

  • 1975: West Indies
  • 1979: West Indies
  • 1983: India
  • 1987: Australia
  • 1992: Pakistan
  • 1996: Sri Lanka
  • 1999: Australia
  • 2003: Australia
  • 2007: Australia
  • 2011: India
  • 2015: Australia
  • 2019: England

Now that you're armed with all the essential information about the ICC Men's Cricket World Cup 2023, get ready to witness the clash of the titans on the cricket field. Let the excitement begin!